Reality Celebrated.

The first Sunday in June is National Cancer Survivor Day in the USA. Wikipedia defines National Cancer Survivor Day as a day that “demonstrates that life after a cancer diagnosis can be a reality”. That’s the message we hope to get across to each and every women who’s scared upon hearing the words “you have cancer”.

In the meantime, I’ll celebrate with those who celebrated yesterday in my own way. As you may already know, One Wig Stand was inspired by a loved one who battled breast cancer a few years ago. I’m proud to call her a survivor. I’m proud to call her more than that – a champion, my idol and my constant inspiration. I celebrate for each day she’s with us, knowing how hard she fought for that through her love. This post is dedicated to her and to all the lovely women I’ve met during One Wig Stand’s journey who are fighting and proving that cancer doesn’t mean death. They are the reason why I keep doing this.

Don’t you think it’s time we create our own Cancer Survivor Day in the Middle East and shed some hope to others?

Leave a Reply

