Boys: Let’s talk about wigs!

“What does your husband or boyfriend think about wigs?” This search term somehow lead to our blog and got me thinking. That’s a good question to ask and we’re always curious to hear how men react to issues related to breast cancer.

Wearing a wig is a big concern for any women going through chemo. She worries how her husband or boyfriend will react and that he may not find her as attractive as before. We want to assure these women that a wig will not affect her beauty in her love’s eye. Plus the wig is temporary until your hair grows back.

BUT I’m sure hearing it from men themselves will make a stronger impact. Boys – we want to hear from you about this. Be honest (but gentle please). Your responses will provide great insight for any woman asking herself that question.. and that will hopefully also her mind too:

“What do you think of women in wigs and would you be turned off if your wife/girlfriend/lover had to wear one?”

Responses (you can also read them in the comments section below):

Tokenminds: A friend of mine had to wear a wig whilst taking treatment for breast cancer and I can honestly say I didn’t notice it was a wig until she pointed it out. If a partner was undergoing the same treatment the wig wouldn’t trouble me at all. Neither would a patchy or bald scalp. If you love someone, and are in love with them, you find them attractive.

Johnny: Having to wear a wig, especially for a woman, is a serious matter, and any man with a sense of decency, sensitivity or respect will understand this. If it were my wife, the idea of a wig would be the least of my worries, I’d be a lot more invested in trying to make her feel better and would be looking after her. If it were my girlfriend, then I would definitely look past it, because there is more to this girl I’m dating than her looks, otherwise I wouldn’t be in a relationship with her. Being understanding and loving in such a time is the least that you can do for your partner or your friend.

Quoting what Tokenminds said in his comment, “If you love someone, and are in love with them, you find them attractive” and so having to wear a wig would not be something to sway my image of her.

++

Here’s one post we came across on the similar topic: Click here.

3 thoughts on “Boys: Let’s talk about wigs!

  1. Tokenminds says:

    A friend of mine had to wear a wig whilst taking treatment for breast cancer and I can honestly say I didn’t notice it was a wig until she pointed it out. If a partner was undergoing the same treatment the wig wouldn’t trouble me at all. Neither would a patchy or bald scalp. If you love someone, and are in love with them, you find them attractive.

    Like

  2. Johnny says:

    Having to wear a wig, especially for a woman, is a serious matter, and any man with a sense of decency, sensitivity or respect will understand this. If it were my wife, the idea of a wig would be the least of my worries, I’d be a lot more invested in trying to make her feel better and would be looking after her. If it were my girlfriend, then I would definitely look past it, because there is more to this girl I’m dating than her looks, otherwise I wouldn’t be in a relationship with her. Being understanding and loving in such a time is the least that you can do for your partner or your friend.

    Quoting what Tokenminds said in his comment, “If you love someone, and are in love with them, you find them attractive” and so having to wear a wig would not be something to sway my image of her.

    Like

    • Mike says:

      (I just found this thread)

      +1 to Johnny.

      My GF started wearing them a year and a half ago. I wasn’t sure how I’d respond…but the look on her face, and well, she was scared, but just looked beautiful to me anyway. But more than that, she seemed happier inside, more at ease, and that made her more beautiful. of course she picked something long and flowing for me to look at (not fair!🙂 ). She asked me if I liked it, and it went something like:

      “What do you think?”
      “Wow.”
      “Just, wow?”
      “Yeah.”
      “So you like it?”
      “silence…”
      “if I do this, promise to never ask me to take it off?”
      “What?”
      “Promise.”
      “Uhhhh…”

      Fast forward… Once you get your head around it, it’s just another thing that makes her happy. a BIG deal thing to some. I suppose having family with hair loss issues has made me open. I have since bought her some, and I think that’s probably the biggest affirmation she could ever receive. I was determined to be as supportive as could be, and taking ownership of that has sent her a message that I love HER, all of her, and this as a big deal is still a part of her. It wasn’t bad, but she gave ME the time to get my head around it (I asked for that). Simple acceptance has evolved into appreciation. Plus, she’s made it into a style thing, and prefers longer (what guy’s gonna complain about that?) it’s awesome, and I chuckle at the looks people get when her hair is short blonde one day, and long and dark the next. I have some “before” pictures of her, but I promised never to look at them any more. And I promised. And life goes on.

      Like

Leave a Reply

