Exposing Breast Cancer, Her Way.

Breast cancer knows no age. It knows no race, religious background or health record. When it strikes, it strikes.

Always on the search for a different perspective on how other women are battling breast cancer in the Middle East, I came across a great blog entitled The Pink Hijab: Exposing Breast Cancer without Exposing Ourselves. Umm Zakaria, the blogger/writer, takes a new approach to sharing her experiences with others by approaching it from an Islamic perspective.

This part caught my eye, describing her battle with a nagging fear many women go through during their treatment:

“You know, I know there is light at the end of the tunnel, and at times I feel close to seeing that light, but other times I feel that this is lasting and will last forever. If I am not being treated for it in the future, I fear I will have the constant nagging fear that recurance is on the doorstep. But you know, instead of dwelling on this tonight, I think I will sleep and dwell on it tomorrow. Procrastination wins once more.” – from one of her recent entries A Cancer Patient’s Best Friend (June 27, 2009)

It’s hard to read, but at the same time, I’m sure this will make a big difference for other women reading it.

I’m really happy to see more women in the Arab world blogging about their breast cancer experiences. It’s a breathe of fresh air and an important step into eliminating the cultural taboo that comes along with the disease. If we can talk about it openly, then we know how to deal with it and, more importantly, how to detect it early if it strikes us.

Check out her blog and show her some positive support🙂 She hasn’t blogged in a while (last post dates to October 29, 2009, so we hope she’s completed her treatment)

 

Leave a Reply

